Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

February 2010Vol. 11, No. 1New HHS Regional Directors Appointed

On Tuesday, November 17, 2009, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Secretary Kathleen Sebelius announced the appointment of four new HHS Regional Directors, who will act as Secretary Sebelius's key representatives in working with Federal, State, local, and Tribal officials on health and social service issues. The new directors are:

  • Cristal Thomas, M.P.P., Director for Region V (Based in Chicago and including IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, and WI)
    Ms. Thomas has served as executive director of the Ohio Executive Medicaid Management Administration since January 2008.
  • Marjorie McColl Petty, J.D., M.S., Director for Region VI, (Based in Dallas and including AR, LA, NM, OK, and TX)
    Ms. Petty has served as director of public affairs and consumer protection for the Kansas Corporation Commission since 2003 and as chair of the board of directors of Delta Dental of Kansas since August 2008.
  • Judy Baker, Director for Region VII (Based in Kansas City and including IA, KS, MO, and NE)
    Ms. Baker is a former member of the Missouri House of Representatives and a managing partner of Cura Advantage, a consulting firm she founded that focuses on health-care systems design and improvement.
  • Susan M. R. Johnson, Director for Region X (Based in Seattle and including AK, ID, OR, and WA)
    Ms. Johnson has served as the director of the King County Health Action Plan for the Public Health Department in Seattle and King County since 1997.

To read the full HHS press release, visit:

To find out more about the ACF Regions, visit: