Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

November 2016Vol. 17, No. 8Adoption Excellence Awards 2016

Each year, the Children's Bureau announces the winners of the Adoption Excellence Awards as part of its celebration of National Adoption Month in November. Since 1997, the Children's Bureau has presented the Adoption Excellence Awards to honor States, local agencies, private organizations, courts, businesses, individuals, and families for outstanding achievements in providing stable, permanent homes for our nations' children in foster care. For 2016, nine Adoption Excellence Awards were approved in four categories by the Administration on Children, Youth and Families' Commissioner Rafael López.

The 2016 Adoption Excellence Awards were presented to the following:

In the category of Family Contributions:

  • Nedra and Matt Cox, Denver, CO

In the category of Individuals/Professionals:

  • Adam Pertman, Boston, MA
  • Sarah Gojkovic, Sierra Vista, AZ
  • Barbara Stair, Anchorage, AK
  • Addie Williams, Southfield, MI

In the category of Media/Social Media/Public Awareness of Adoption From Foster Care:

  • Tim Wieland, Denver, CO
  • Rut N. Tellado Domenech and Jorge Ramirez, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico

In the category of Child Welfare/Judicial Systemic Change:

  • Kidsave of Los Angeles – Randi Thompson, Culver City, CA
  • Anne Arundel County Department of Social Services, Adoptions and Resource Homes Units – Terri Lowther, Annapolis, MD

To read more about the Adoption Excellence Awards and award winners, including past years' winners, visit the Children's Bureau website at