Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

March 2018Vol. 19, No. 2PRIDE Model of Practice

Child Welfare League of America, in collaboration with, has released the New Generation PRIDE Model of Practice. This 14-step model of practice was developed to help child welfare agencies support foster and adoptive families as team members in child protection and trauma-informed care. The training opportunity features dynamic, interactive adult learning methods and integrates in-person group sessions, family assessment (home study) consultations, and online self-paced training to meet the needs of diverse families.

The New Generation PRIDE Model of Practice is based on the following five core competency categories:

  • Protecting and nurturing children
  • Meeting children's developmental needs and addressing their delays
  • Supporting relationships with birth families
  • Connecting children to safe, permanent, and nurturing relationships
  • Working as a member of a professional team

The training aims to strengthen the quality of family foster care and adoption service by educating communities about the importance of resource families; recruiting families based on a comprehensive, strengths-and-needs plan; providing in-person or online, preservice training with information and skill building around the five core competencies; integrating preservice training as an essential component of the mutual family assessment (home study) process; and more.

More information on the New Generation PRIDE Model of Practice is available at