• July/August 2014
  • Vol. 15, No. 7

Printer-Friendly version of article

Nominations Open for Adoption Excellence Awards

Each year, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' Administration for Children and Families (ACF) presents Adoption Excellence Awards to recognize individuals, families, and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to providing safe, permanent, and loving homes for children in foster care. Winners are those who have demonstrated leadership, innovative approaches, and dedication that contribute significantly to the successful adoption of children from foster care.

Nominations are now open for the 2014 Adoption Excellence Awards, and all nominations must be received by COB Thursday, July 31, 2014. Nominees may be individuals and organizations, including States, public agencies, universities, Tribes, courts, families, faith-based organizations, businesses, and more. Awards will be made in the following categories:

  • Family Contributions
  • Individual/Professionals
  • Business Contributions/Initiatives
  • Media/Social Media/Public Awareness
  • Child Welfare/Judicial Systemic Change
  • Judicial or Child Welfare System Improvement

Nominations will be reviewed and award winners recommended by a panel of recognized experts in the adoption field, including members from Federal and State agencies. A description of the award categories, eligibility and selection criteria, nomination forms, and a complete list of winners going back to 2001 are available on the Children's Bureau website:


If you have questions about the award, please contact LaChundra Lindsey at lachundra.lindsey@acf.hhs.gov or 202.205.8252.

<<  Previous Section   <  Previous Article   Next Article  >   Next Section  >>