• March 2018
  • Vol. 19, No. 2

Printer-Friendly version of article

PRIDE Model of Practice

Child Welfare League of America, in collaboration with FosterParentCollege.com, has released the New Generation PRIDE Model of Practice. This 14-step model of practice was developed to help child welfare agencies support foster and adoptive families as team members in child protection and trauma-informed care. The training opportunity features dynamic, interactive adult learning methods and integrates in-person group sessions, family assessment (home study) consultations, and online self-paced training to meet the needs of diverse families.

The New Generation PRIDE Model of Practice is based on the following five core competency categories:

  • Protecting and nurturing children
  • Meeting children's developmental needs and addressing their delays
  • Supporting relationships with birth families
  • Connecting children to safe, permanent, and nurturing relationships
  • Working as a member of a professional team

The training aims to strengthen the quality of family foster care and adoption service by educating communities about the importance of resource families; recruiting families based on a comprehensive, strengths-and-needs plan; providing in-person or online, preservice training with information and skill building around the five core competencies; integrating preservice training as an essential component of the mutual family assessment (home study) process; and more.

More information on the New Generation PRIDE Model of Practice is available at https://www.cwla.org/pride-training/.

<<  Previous Section   <  Previous Article   Next Article  >