• Dec 2003/Jan 2004
  • Vol. 4, No. 10

Printer-Friendly version of article

HHS Honors 30 Groups, Individuals for Adoption Excellence

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Secretary Tommy G. Thompson announced 30 Adoption Excellence Award winners in early November. Given annually since 1997, the awards honor States, local agencies, private organizations, courts, businesses, individuals, and families for their accomplishments and efforts to increase the adoptions of foster children.

"The Adoption Excellence awards are an important way to recognize outstanding achievement in providing stable, loving homes for children in foster care," said Wade F. Horn, Ph.D., Assistant Secretary for Children and Families. "In this season of giving thanks, we are proud to demonstrate our sincere appreciation for the promise of a better life these honorees have given these children. It is a privilege to salute them."

The award winners were chosen by a committee representing nonprofit adoption agencies, child welfare and adoption advocates, adoptive parents, foundations, the business community, and State and Federal offices.

Winners were recognized in the following categories:

  • Increased adoptions
  • Increased permanency for children with special needs
  • Support for adoptive families
  • Public awareness
  • Individual and/or family contributions
  • Philanthropy
  • Judicial or child welfare system improvement

The full press release with information about each awardee can be found on the HHS website at www.hhs.gov/news/press/2003pres/20031106.html.

<  Previous Article   Next Article  >